Musings on Green Bean Casserole

I had to talk one of my kids through making green bean casserole yesterday and it got me to thinking. Everyone knows the basic recipe, but the best ones aren’t made according to that recipe. It’s actually pretty boring:

2 Cans green beans (french style is better)
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 Small can fried onions
Mix beans, soup and half the onions. Pour into casserole dish and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes. Pour remaining onions on top and bake another 5 minutes or so until onions are browned a bit.

I always add a splash of milk when mixing the ingredients. It makes a little extra sauce in the casserole and it makes it easier to mix the ingredients. I also add either finely diced onion or minced onion or onion powder.

If I remember, I add about 4 drops of Tobasco. It doesn’t make the dish hot. It just adds an extra something to the spicing. I generally add either sliced fresh mushrooms or a small can of sliced mushrooms.

I know several people who add chunks of Velveeta. Yummy!

This is a very new blog so not many people are reading it yet, but I wanted to ask – what extras do you like in a green bean casserole?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. People seem reluctant to post comments on this new site, but I’ve received a couple of e-mails responding to the green bean casserole query.
    One friend wrote to say that she likes to put cheese in the casserole, but prefers a handful of shredded colby jack cheese mixed in. Sounds like a good idea.
    Another friend wrote to say that he puts a splash of Worcestershire in his. Yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

