Making May More Mexican

Ever since Cinco de Mayo, I’ve been feeling like having more Mexican food! I made my favorite, Queso Grande, for Cinco de Mayo and had delicious soft tacos at a friend’s house, but it somehow hasn’t been enough. So, I remembered that I picked up an old Mexican cookbook at a garage sale recently.

It’s called Favorite Mexican Cookin’ and it was published in Amarillo, Texas in 1972. I cracked it open looking for a new favorite dish. But, alas, many of the recipes are not very Mexican. They contain ingredients like crushed saltine crackers. Huh?

But I kept looking, and think I’ve found a couple to try. Both are served cold, so they will be great additions to my summer menu.

Pinto Bean Salad

2 15-ounce cans cooked pinto beans, drained

4 tablespoons hot chili sauce

1/4 cup chopped bell pepper

1/4 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup pickle relish

1/4 cup chopped celery

1 tablespoon piniento, chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix all ingredients then chill thoroughly. Serves 6 to 8.

The use of pickle relish as an ingredient should still disqualify this as an authentic Mexican recipe, I think, but it sounds like it may be tasty. Worth a try.

Here’s another recipe that’s a Mexican twist on an American favorite.

Mexican Cole Slaw

1 medium head cabbage

1 small can pinientos

1/2 cup chopped green onions

2 teaspoons chopped bell pepper

2 teaspoons hot chili sauce

Dressing:

2/3 cup salad oil

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

1 cup vinegar

2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons salt

It is better to prepare slaw 3 or 4 days in advance. Combine dressing ingredients in a sauce pan and bring to boil. Pour immediately over cabbage, onions, pepper, pimiento and chili sauce. Slaw will keep for weeks.

I suspect that I will want to add a bit more sugar to this recipe because I like my cole slaw a little sweet.

I’m excited to try out some new Mexican recipes. These should be great side dishes when I make quesadillas, too. Ole!

For great quesadilla ideas check out 25 Quick & Easy Quesadilla Recipes available online for only $1.99 cents at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple, Sony or Smashwords.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

